APRU Food Security Webinar Series 2024: Precision Agriculture and Food Shelf Life Extension in Asia-Pacific

Amidst a shifting post-pandemic landscape, there is a growing emphasis on regional efforts to extend the shelf life of food and foster collaboration in precision agriculture technology, as consumers increasingly seek locally sourced options and contemplate self-sustainable food systems. To address this new trend, the APRU Food Security Working Group was formed in 2023 with inaugural representatives from Canada, the United States, Singapore, Taiwan, and Australia. The WG strives to contribute to the process of forming new solutions by bringing out collective research capabilities and outcomes from the APRU network.  

The APRU Food Security Webinar Series 2024 is the first initiative conceived and developed by the WG, aiming to delve into regional technological advancements in two focal areas: 1) precision agriculture, and 2) agritech solutions for prolonging food shelf life.

Join us for insightful discussions with invited speakers throughout the first half of 2024.

Session 1:
“AI-based Drone Mapping Solutions” & “Sustainable Cold Chain: Jelly Ice Cubes”
February 22 Thursday at 5pm (Vancouver, Los Angeles)
/ February 23 Friday at 9am (Singapore, Taipei) 
/ February 23 Friday at 11:30am (Adelaide)

Online Registration

The inaugural webinar is hosted by Simon Fraser University (SFU) and the University of California, Davis (UC Davis)

Speakers:

  • Dr. Bing Lu, Assistant Professor, Department of Geography, SFU, “Investigating Blueberry Scorch Virus Infection Using Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV)-based Imagery and Deep Learning
  • Dr. Jiahan Zou, Postdoctoral Researcher, Department of Food Science and Technology, UC Davis, “Sustainable Temperature Controls: A Critical Step for Ensuring Food Safety and Quality

Moderators:

  • Dr. Woo Soo Kim, Scientific Director, B.C. Centre for Agritech Innovation (BCCAI), SFU
  • Dr. Ermias Kebreab, Professor and Sesnon Endowed Chair, Department of Animal Science, UC Davis

Discussants:

  • Dr. Gang Sun, Professor, Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, UC Davis
  • Dr. Luxin Wang, Professor, Department of Food Science and Technology, UC Davis

Download the Speakers’ Profiles and Abstracts

 

Session 2
May 1 Wednesday at 6pm (Vancouver, Los Angeles)
/ May 2 Thursday at 9am (Singapore, Taipei) 
/ May 2 Thursday at 10:30am (Adelaide) 

 

Session 3
June 20 Thursday at 6pm (Vancouver, Los Angeles)
/ June 21 Friday at 9am (Singapore, Taipei) 
/ June 21 Friday at 10:30am (Adelaide) 

Speakers

APRU Food Security Working Group members and webinar speakers of each session

Woo Soo Kim (WG)
Simon Fraser University
more
Ermias Kebreab (WG)
University of California, Davis
more
Thorsten Wohland (WG)
National University of Singapore
more
Anne Lochoff (WG)
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
more
Ming-Ju Chen (WG)
National Taiwan University
more
Christopher Ford (WG)
The University of Adelaide
more
Bing Lu (Speaker)
Simon Fraser University

Dr. Bing Lu is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Geography at Simon Fraser University. His research is focused on remote sensing (e.g., drone- and satellite-based imaging) and its applications in ecosystem monitoring. He has been trying to use remote sensing as an agritech for evaluating crop health and soil health and investigating the impacts of climate change and extreme events (e.g., heatwave, flooding).

more
Jiahan Zou (Speaker)
University of California, Davis

Dr. Jiahan Zou currently serves as a postdoctoral research associate in the Department of Food Science and Technology at UC Davis. With an interest in sustainable bio-based functional materials, she has been engaged in research for over 11 years. As part of her doctoral work, Jiahan is a key inventor of “Jelly Ice” and has been instrumental in its development. She transformed this visionary idea into a tangible prototype in three years and is now leading the effort to transition Jelly Ice from a laboratory innovation to a practical, everyday application. 

more
more
Contact
Us

For any inquiries regarding the webinar series, please reach out to [email protected]

Enquiry
×
Speaker