Key Partners
[2022 APRU Multi-Hazards Webinar Series] Emerging Risks in a Complex World: The Disaster-Climate-Health Nexus and the Need for Enhanced Regional Collaboration
The combination of natural hazards and the COVID-19 pandemic caused a systemic collapse and created cascading events. It made us realize the need for considering the risks in a larger system and a transformation of our traditional risk management. A hazard-by-hazard approach to disaster risk management is no longer viable. This session will discuss the complexity of emerging and cascading risks, and how to prepare for and tackle these challenges.   Date & Time January 24 at 6 pm (Los Angelos)/ 8 pm (Mexico City) January 25 at 7:30 am (New Delhi)/ 9 am (Bangkok & Jakarta)/ 10 am (HK & Manila)/ 11 am (Tokyo)/ 1 pm (Sydney)/ 3 pm (Auckland) Duration: 90 minutes   Speakers
  • Dr (Ms). Madhurima-Sarkar Swaisgood, Economic Affairs Officer, UNESCAP
  • Dr. Sanjay Srivastava, Chief, Disaster risk reduction, UNESCAP
  • Dr. Manu Gupta, Co-founder, SEEDS
  Moderator
  • Dr. Takako Izumi, IRIDeS, Tohoku University
  Resources
Speakers
Dr. Madhurima Sarkar-Swaisgood
Economics Affairs Officer, UN ESCAP

Madhurima Sarkar-Swaisgood is the Economics Affairs Officer at UN ESCAP in the Disaster Risk Reduction has a PhD in Public Health from Florida State University. Before joining ESCAP she was a Senior Researcher at Nationwide Children’s Hospital and Ohio State University. At ESCAP, she is a key author of the 2017, 2019 and 2021 Asia Pacific Disaster Reports and has over 30 publications in various peer reviewed journals. Her current work focuses on climate change impacts on vulnerable populations and climate adaptation to support multisectoral policymakers.

more
Dr. Sanjay K Srivastava
Chief of Disaster Risk Reduction at UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific

Sanjay K Srivastava, Ph D (Applied Physics), is presently Chief of Disaster Risk Reduction at UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP). He was ESCAP Regional Adviser on Disaster Risk Reduction from Oct 2009 to June 2014; Head of SAAARC Disaster Management Centre – New Delhi from 2007-2008; Deputy Project Director of Disaster Management Support Programme at Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO); Scientist/Engineer at ISRO HQ Bangalore since 1991.  He is the recipient of ISRO’s Team excellence award in 2008-09 for his contributions towards harnessing space technology applications for the benefits of rural poor. He has more than 150 publications on disaster risk reduction, including research papers in peer reviewed international journals, intergovernmental reports and books; Sanjay has been a lead author of ESCAP’s flagship publication – Asia-Pacific Disaster Report since its inception 2010.  

more
Dr. Manu Gupta
Co-Founder of SEEDS

Dr. Manu Gupta is building resilient communities across Asia Pacific. He has been at the forefront of championing and advocating for citizen-led initiatives. He  is Co-Founder of SEEDS, a not-for profit organisation that enables community resilience through practical solutions in the areas of disaster readiness, response, and rehabilitation. Manu on the boards of several global and regional organisations has been championing localisation efforts in Asia for over two decades.

 

Manu is a Ashoka Fellow, and holds degrees in Physical Planning and Urban Planning from the School of Planning and Architecture, New Delhi, and a doctorate in community-based disaster management from Kyoto University, Japan.

 

LinkedIn | Twitter

more
Dr. Takako Izumi
Associate Professor at the International Research Institute of Disaster Science (IRIDeS), Tohoku University

Dr. Takako Izumi is an associate professor at the International Research Institute of Disaster Science (IRIDeS), Tohoku University, Japan since 2013. She also serves as Program Director of the Multi Hazards Program under the Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU), which comprises 55 universities and academic institutes in the Pacific Rim. Her research interests include international and regional frameworks/strategies for disaster risk reduction (DRR), international humanitarian assistance, and DRR initiatives at the local and community levels.
Prior to joining academia, she has more than 15-year experience as a practitioner in humanitarian assistance, disaster response, recovery, risk reduction as well as various development issues with an international NGO and UN agencies such as UN Habitat, UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (UNOCHA), UN Office for the Recovery Coordinator for Aceh and Nias (UNORC), and UN International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (Current UNDRR).
She has been appointed as a member of the UNDRR’s Asia-Pacific Science Technology and Academia Advisory Group (ASTAAG) since May 2015. She holds Ph.D. in Global Environmental Study from Kyoto University, Japan.

more
more
Contact
Us
×
Speaker